READING: Reading Update September 2015

As summer turns to fall, I’m still pretty busy, but I’m forcing myself to read regularly to keep myself sane. It’s looking like the deadlines that have run me off my feet all summer are beginning to abate, so – perhaps October will be a big one!

Books I’ve Finished: In September I finished seven books: Karin Lowachee‘s WarchildChristopher Barzuk‘s Wonders of the Invisible WorldS.J. Watson‘s Before I Go to Sleep, and Rick Riordan‘s Percy Jackson: The Lighting Thief, Percy Jackson: The Sea of Monsters, Percy Jackson: The Titan’s Curse, and Percy Jackson: The Battle of the Labyrinth.

Reading Challenge: I’m at 39/55 books for the year, according to GoodReads, which is only book behind schedule! Here’s to (almost) catching up! Thank god for YA.

Thoughts: I’ve loved pushing myself to read more recently. How do I do that? By making a concerted effort to acquire easy-read books that I can spend a night or two relaxing with. When I’ve got a lot of work on my plate, I need books that aren’t terribly dense; lighter books with a great pace (like YA or popular fiction) are awesome to have during these times. Since I’m too scattered and badly-located to make decent use of a library, I prefer to score $1 or $2 used books and hand them off to friends when I’ve finished with them – which is how I picked up the first Percy Jackson book and Before I Go to Sleep, both of which I enjoyed much more than I expected and probably otherwise wouldn’t have gotten. I also found The Swimming-Pool Library for a dollar, a happy find since I’ve been eyeing full-price Hollinghurst books for a while as someone to try, and Douglas Coupland‘s Miss Wyoming for $2, which is nice because I find Coupland exactly my type of readable.

I’m still not finding as many books I love as I did last year, instead chewing through a ton of enjoyable 3-star books. Some sit at the bottom of that range – the dry, kind of boring Warchild and the mediocre, if imaginative, Wonders of the Invisible World – while others like the bland but pacey and enjoyable Before I Go to Sleep sit nicely in the middle. I also burned through the first four Percy Jackson books, which – while way lower than my reading level – were a blast to read. Sometimes it’s nice to relax with a book that doesn’t demand much of you, after all.

My list of in-progress books:

  • 24% of the way through The Swimming-Pool Library by Alan Hollinghurst.
  • 23% of the way through Raising Stony Mayhall by Daryl Gregory.
  • 7% of the way through Moonshine by Alaya Dawn Johnson.
  • 4% of the way through Transmission by Hari Kunzru.

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

