READING: Reading Update March 2015

I’m back! So where am I at in the world of reading…?

Books I’ve Finished: In March, I finished 8 books: Sally Green‘s Half BadShaun David Hutchinson‘s The Five Stages of Andrew BrawleyDavid Levithan‘s Boy Meets Boy and The Lover’s DictionaryCorinne Duyvis‘s OtherboundAnn Leckie‘s Ancillary Sword, Ginn Hale‘s The Rifter Book Two, and Jordan Castillo Price‘ Meatworks.

Reading Challenge: I’m now at 21/55 books for the year! According to GoodReads, that’s seven books ahead of schedule! If I keep up this pace, I might need to up my challenge…

Thoughts: I started the month – finally back at my apartment after months up north – by finishing off a few stragglers I’d left unfinished before I traveled. That meant finishing Meatworks (which was okay) and The Rifter Book Two (which was great, and I hated for it to end). Then I moved onto books I acquired during my trip and hadn’t finished: Ancillary Sword, which didn’t top the first book for me but still earned its weight, and Otherbound, which was very good YA fantasy, even if there was a twist or two I didn’t connect with.

After that, work picked up, and I developed a habit of buying easy-read books to binge between rounds of writing. I read The Lover’s Dictionary and Boy Meets Boy (both solidly delightful, neither astonishing) entirely during single subway trips home from downtown, while The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley gave me a few hours of focused reading at home. Half Bad – which was pithily termed by my sister, “All Bad” – took a few days to read; while I liked it a lot more than I expected, I don’t expect to pick up the sequel.

Still loving Congo and Once You Break a Knuckle. Cautiously pushing my way through the four novellas in Irregulars; the second story, Josh Lanyon‘s “Green Glass Beads”, was generally well-written but didn’t quite sell me at the ending. I’ve started Astrid Amara‘s “No Life But This”, and it’s definitely got me interested. And finally, Touch: highly anticipated after Claire North‘s fascinating but slightly cold The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, I was disappointed to find Touch comparatively a strong winter wind. Well-written and pacey, but I’m struggling to connect because this narrator is even more detached than August was. Alas.

Next Up:

New Books: Recent new books include Ursula K. Le Guin‘s The Left Hand of DarknessTanya Huff‘s Fifth Quarter, Rohinton Mistry‘s A Fine Balance, and Neil Gaiman‘s Trigger Warnings.

Currently Reading

This month I decided to start only including books I’ve touched in said month. Keeps the list more honest.

My list of in-progress books:

  • 46% of the way through Once You Break a Knuckle by D.W. Wilson.
  • 42% of the way through Irregulars by Nicole Kimberling, Josh Lanyon, Ginn Hale and Astrid Amara.
  • 35% of the way through Congo by David van Reybrouck.
  • 7% of the way through Touch by Claire North.

What are you reading?

5 responses to “READING: Reading Update March 2015

  1. lovelyalexeus April 5, 2015 at 9:21 am

    I am currently reading, “I, Alex Cross,” by James Patterson. It’s an excellent book so far

  2. bbooksmartblog April 5, 2015 at 10:09 am

    I’m currently reading Stolen by Lucy Christopher and absolutely loving it! It’s so terrifying, but yet so addicting.

  3. Book Beat April 5, 2015 at 10:58 am

    I’d be interested to see how Le Guin’s book is!

Leave a Reply

