READING: Reading Update January 2015

Welcome to my first reading update for 2015! Since doing these monthly for a lot of last year, I found them really meaningful: the regularity of maintaining and posting them, weirdly enough, kept me a little grounded. So they are definitely going to be a mainstay here for 2015, and maybe even after. So where am I at in the world of reading…?

Books I’ve Finished: In January, I finished 9 books: Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham‘s Veronica Mars: Mr. Kiss & Tell, John Scalzi‘s Lock InMindy Kaling‘s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me,  Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett‘s HavemercyRichard Powers‘ OrfeoSteven Pressfield‘s The War of ArtBen Monopoli‘s The Cranberry HushRainbow Rowell‘s Attachments, and Erin Claiborne‘s A Hero at the End of the World.

Reading Challenge: At the top of the year, I had to decide what to set my initial Reading Challenge number at for 2015. Last year, I ultimately challenged myself to read 50 books, and read 56. Advised by my sisters that I shouldn’t be too ambitious too early, I set the number at a fair 55 books for 2014. Of course, I had a particularly productive January, reading-wise, so I may find myself bumping that number up in a few months…

Books I’ve Abandoned: I’m up north for about another week, and when returning to the city I’ll have to make a determination: which books will I commit to reading by bringing home with me, and which will I leave up here? While none of the books I’m currently reading is in danger of getting cut, there are a number of ‘backburner’ books that I may not bring home with me…

Next Up: As part of my aforementioned desire to leave books up north, I want to finish reading as many of my partially-read ‘backburner’ books as possible, so I don’t have to take them with me. I already started this initiative by finishing Lock In, which has spent ages languishing on my shelf, and by finally ditching Liesel Schwarz‘s A Conspiracy of Alchemists. Books I’m including as part of this ‘one week or ditch’ initiative include M.D. Waters‘ PrototypeWill McIntosh‘s Defenders, and George Pelecanos‘ A Firing Offense. You’ll see which I’ve managed to strike off in my February update – or, spoilers, at my compulsively-updated GoodReads account.

Of my in-progress books, I definitely expect to read Ancillary Sword and The Machine by end of next month, and perhaps The Mirror Empire and/or The Blade Itself as well.

New Books: Recent additions to my bookshelf include Storm Constantine‘s Wraeththu compilation, Sarah Monette‘s MelusineHolly Black‘s The Darkest Part of the ForestPierce Brown‘s Golden Son, Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett‘s Shadow Magic and Dragon SoulIan Tregillis‘ Bitter Seeds, and Nnedi Okorafor‘s Kabu Kabu.

Currently Reading

One thing I decided to do to make my gargantuan currently-reading list a bit more manageable is to only include books I’ve touched in 2015. This means that long-time holdovers that I haven’t touched in 6 months won’t balloon it. I’ve also stopped including my entire to-read bookshelf at the end of the post.

My list of in-progress books:

  • 48% of the way through Perdido Street Station by China Miéville.
  • 39% of the way through Outer Dark by Cormac McCarthy.
  • 35% of the way through Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie.
  • 27% of the way through Congo by David van Reybrouck.
  • 22% of the way through The Machine by James Smythe.
  • 15% of the way through The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie.
  • 13% of the way through The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley.
  • 8% of the way through A Book of Tongues by Gemma Files.
  • 4% of the way through A Century of Spies by Jeffrey T. Richelson.
  • 2% of the way through The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi.

2015 reading has begun! What are you reading?

One response to “READING: Reading Update January 2015

  1. Kara Lalalala February 1, 2015 at 6:15 pm

    I abandoned a book called Urban Gothic. It was supposed to be a cool horror book but it was sooooooooooo baaaaaaddddd. I forget that I can watch terrible horror movies because of gratuitous bloody violence and sometimes there are boobs. No boobies in books, bro. No boobies in books. I read my first romance novel, for kicks. It made me wistfully sad for the human race. Uhhh what else. Oh I finished Ocean At The End of the lane and it was GREAT! Oh and I can email you that Bread we Eat in Dreams if you want.. I downloaded it… like a sexy billionaire pirate.. which was coincidentally the plot of that romance novel. EVERY SINGLE ONE IS ABOUT A BILLIONAIRE! Housewives have grown weary of petty little millionaires. Pish tosh.

    PS your blog needs some colour. It is too gray.

    Love,
    Me

Leave a Reply

