My Best of 2014

A quick round up of My Best of 2014s to ring in the new year…

Books

This year, I read 19 books published in 2014.  I’m going to drop a fuller list – with commentary – in a bit when I’ve finished my 2014 reading stack, but my current list stands at:

  1. The Flight of the Silvers (Daniel Price)
  2. The Martian (Andy Weir)
  3. The Art of Asking (Amanda Palmer)
  4. California (Edan Lepucki)
  5. Red Rising (Pierce Brown)

Honourable Mentions: Annihilation (Jeff VanderMeer), Landline (Rainbow Rowell), Marshlands (Matthew Olshan), Yes Please (Amy Poehler), The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (Claire North).

Movies

Of the 43 movies I watched this year, 11 were released in 2014 (and 1, which I saw a preview of at TIFF, will be released February 2015). My top 5 were…

  1. The Last Five Years [technically 2015]
  2. The One I Love
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy
  4. Gone Girl
  5. Belle

Honourable Mentions (aka everything else): Captain America 2: The Winter SoldierThe Fault in Our Stars, Maleficent, Interstellar, In Your Eyes, The Lego Movie.

Episodes of TV

  1. Masters of Sex 2×03, “Fight”
  2. The Affair 1×04, “Episode Four”
  3. The Leftovers 1×06, “Guest”
  4. Halt & Catch Fire 1×09, “Up Helly Aa”
  5. The Good Wife 5×14, “A Few Words”

How about you?

Leave a Reply

