PERSONAL: Reading Update October 2014

I gave a reading update last month, as usual. This round, I read where I could in between many commitments, slowed but not stopped…

Books I’ve Finished: Since last month, I’ve finished 5 books: M.D. Waters‘ ArchetypeBenjamin Alire Saenz‘s Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Neil Gaiman‘s The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Holly Black‘s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Lauren Owen‘s The Quick.

Based on the numbers, I’ve decided to up my challenge again. So, I’m at a total of 45/50 books so far for 2014. I’m still five books ahead of schedule. With two and a half months left in the year to read six books. I’ve slowed down quite a bit from the summer, but I definitely feel like I can read 5 books in the next two months.

Books I’ve Abandoned: None this month, thankfully. Though thanks to a wayward package, three books I was very much looking forward to have been waylaid, and I’m loath to purchase them again.

Next Up: I’m (so far) in love with D.W. Wilson‘s collection of short stories Once You Break a Knuckle, and would have easily finished it by now except I want to savour the book over a few more days. I’m also finding Cormac McCarthy‘s Outer Dark a beautifully evocative novel and a perfect reading companion to Knuckle.

I recently started John Scalzi‘s Lock In, which is a bit of a disappointment so far. I’m intrigued by the world he’s created, but exploring a concept like this through a criminal investigation just saps a lot of energy and intrigue out of it, makes it looks like a lot of other books. I’m waiting for it to wow me, but 1/3 in I’m merely expecting to keep enjoying it mildly.

The list of in-progress books:

  • 71% of the way through The Rifter 2: The Holy Road by Ginn Hale
  • 41% of the way through The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters.
  • 40% of the way through Perdido Street Station by China Miéville.
  • 38% of the way through Marshlands by Matthew Olshan.
  • 33% of the way through Lock In by John Scalzi.
  • 32% of the way through One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez.
  • 32% of the way through Irregulars by Nicole Kimberling, Josh Lanyon, Astrid Amara & Ginn Hale.
  • 32% of the way through Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton.
  • 26% of the way through Once You Break a Knuckle by D.W. Wilson.
  • 26% of the way through Outer Dark by Cormac McCarthy.
  • 25% of the way through The Fatal Shore by Robert Hughes.
  • 20% of the way through Underground by Haruki Murakami.
  • 19% of the way through Unruly Places by Alastair Bonnett.
  • 17% of the way through Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon.
  • 15% of the way through From Chinese Exclusion to Guantanamo Bay by Natsu Taylor Saito.
  • 11% of the way through A Naked Singularity by Sergio de la Pava.
  • 11% of the way through Congo by David van Reybrouck.
  • 10% of the way through The Fate of Africa by Martin Meredith.
  • 10% of the way through Showrunners by Tara Bennett.
  • 10% of the way through The TV Showrunners Road Map by Neil Landau.

And the To Read list….

  • Christopher Andrew‘s Defend the Realm
  • Lauren Beukes‘ Broken Monsters
  • Paul Bushkovitch‘s A Concise History of Russia
  • Fyodor Dostoevsky‘s Demons (translated by Richard Pevear & Larissa Volokhonsky)
  • Andrew Feinstein‘s The Shadow World
  • Orlando Figes A People’s Tragedy
  • Lynn Flewelling‘s Luck in the Shadows
  • Shelby Foote‘s The Civil War Vols. 1-3
  • Misha Glenny‘s The Balkans
  • Daryl Gregory‘s Afterparty
  • Brian Greene‘s The Hidden Reality
  • Ginn Hale‘s The Rifter:  His Sacred Bones (#3)
  • David Hajdu‘s  The Ten-Cent Plague
  • Kalevi J. Holsti‘s Peace and War
  • Geoffrey Hosking‘s Russia and the Russians
  • Khaled Hosseini‘s A Thousand Splendid Suns
  • Kameron Hurley‘s The Mirror Empire
  • Alaya Johnson‘s Moonshine
  • Michio Kaku‘s Physics of the Future
  • Claude Lalumiere‘s (ed.) Tessaracts Twelve
  • Allan Levine‘s Toronto: A Biography
  • Josh Lanyon‘s Strange Fortune
  • Hilary Mantel‘s Wolf Hall
  • Cormac McCarthy‘s The Crossing
  • Maureen F. McHugh‘s After the Apocalypse
  • Martin Meredith‘s The Fortunes of Africa
  • Jo Nesbo‘s The Son
  • Helen Oyeyemi‘s Boy, Snow, Bird
  • Lincoln Paine‘s The Sea & Civilisation
  • Richard Powers’ Orfeo
  • Jordan Castillo Price‘s Meatworks
  • Christopher Priest‘s The Adjacent
  • Nicholas Proferes’Film Directing Fundamentals
  • Ekaterina Sedia‘s (ed.) Bewere the Night
  • Kyung-Sook Shin‘s I’ll Be Right There
  • Brendan Simms‘ Europe: The Struggle For Supremacy 1453 to the Present
  • Studs Terkel‘s Hard Times
  • Studs Terkel‘s “The Good War”
  • Studs Terkel‘s Coming of Age
  • Peter Tomsen‘s The Wars of Afghanistan
  • Jeff VanderMeer‘s The Steampunk Bible
  • Stephen Wade‘s Spies in the Empire
  • Tim Weiner‘s Legacy of Ashes
  • Alan Weisman‘s The World Without Us
  • Judith Weston‘s Directing Actors
  • Robert Charles Wilson‘s Spin

So. Lots to read. School’s started, but I’m excited to finally dig into my nonfiction collection.

What are y’all reading?

5 responses to “PERSONAL: Reading Update October 2014

  1. Kara Lalalala October 26, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    I feel like i’m the only person in the world not currently reading The Ocean At The End of The Lane! I would love to borrow that, Break A Knuckle and the cormac Mccarthy novel from you when we come in December! Right now Im reading the hunger games trilogy and holy smokes, its addictive! I’m Team Peeta by the way. I was going to suggest a book to you, but youve read everything I just read haha

    • R. Lackie October 26, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      I will save those for you!! Good thing you mentioned it bc unless I loooooove a book, I give it to someone else upon finishing it, so I know to hold onto em. 🙂 Ocean at the End of the Lane was lovely, totally lovely.

      (Hunger Games IS so addictive! That pace, geez. I am also Team Peeta. I love Gale but he and Katniss just aren’t right together…)

  2. Kara Lalalala October 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    PS what do you think of One Hundred Years of Solitude? I dont know why, but I didnt want to stop reading that book.. and thats okay, cause its like fifty million pages long, so its almost like reading it forever.

    • R. Lackie October 26, 2014 at 3:23 pm

      I’ve really enjoyed reading it, but I kept losing track of everyone and other books kept taking precedence, so it’s kind of fallen to the wayside for me at the moment. Wonderfully written though, and I do plan on finishing it, even if it takes all next year.

  3. Pingback: PERSONAL: Reading Update Nov/Dec 2014 | The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

