PERSONAL: Reading Update July 2014

I gave a reading update last month. Since then… I’ve been reading quite a bit.

Books I’ve Finished: Since last month, I’ve finished four books: Megan Abbott‘s The Fever, Sarah Beth Durst‘s The LostJeff VanderMeer‘s Annihilation and Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham‘s Veronica Mars: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line. Bringing me to a total of 24 books so far in 2014.

I’m currently 3 books ahead of schedule. Not bad at all.

After a couple months of intense book hunger, it’s started to ebb in the later days of July. I’m still hungry for books, but not as ravenous as I was only weeks ago. Part of it is appetite sated. Part of it, I think, is my making headway into a writing project in prose, something I hadn’t attempted in years and needed a refresher on in the form of massive prose intake. And part of it is, possibly, overreading. My appetite for TV and film is starting to return, too. The cycle continues.

Books I’ve Abandoned: A book I’ve kept on my shelf for ages, Jonathan Franzen‘s Freedom. I got 26 pages into it, and while I took no issue with the writing itself, it was infused with something I didn’t like. Something ugly. After ditching The Corrections previously as well, I have to accept the fact that I just don’t like Franzen. He’s a great writer; his stuff’s just not for me.

Next Up: I’m partway through a number of books at the moment, any (or all!) of which I could finish in the next month:

  • 38% of the way through Guardian, Alex London‘s disappointing follow-up to Proxy.
  • 36% through The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North.
  • 35% of the way through Wicked Gentlemen by Ginn Hale.
  • 33% of the way through Perdido Street Station by China Miéville.
  • 32% of the way through The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters.
  • 29% through Bossypants by Tina Fey.
  • 28% through The Hungry Ghosts by Shyam Selvadurai.
  • 27% of the way through Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton
  • 20% through Authority by Jeff VanderMeer.
  • 19% of the way through The Martian by Andy Weir.
  • 10% of the way through Defenders by Will McIntosh.

These are my current books that I’m actively making my way through. After those? The many products of both a healthy appetite for online book-buying and digging through boxes of books I bought forever ago and never read. The full list – fiction, that is, as nonfiction would double its length…

  • Jesse Ball‘s Silence Once Begun
  • Pierce Brown‘s Red Rising
  • Peter Cawdron‘s Feedback
  • Sergio de la Pava‘s A Naked Singularity
  • Fyodor Dostoevsky‘s Demons (translated by Richard Pevear & Larissa Volokhonsky)
  • Lynn Flewelling‘s Luck in the Shadows
  • Neil Gaiman‘s The Ocean at the End of the Lane
  • John Green‘s Paper Towns
  • Daryl Gregory‘s Afterparty
  • Ginn Hale‘s The Rifter trilogy: The Shattered Gates, The Holy Road & His Sacred Bones
  • Terry HayesI Am Pilgrim
  • Alaya Johnson‘s Moonshine
  • Josh Lanyon‘s Strange Fortune
  • Scott Lynch‘s The Lies of Locke Lamora
  • China Miéville’s Railsea
  • George PelecanosA Firing Offense
  • Richard Powers’ Orfeo
  • Christopher Priest‘s The Adjacent
  • Rainbow Rowell‘s Eleanor & Park
  • Benjamin Alire Saenz‘s Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
  • James Smythe‘s The Machine
  • Sarah Treguy‘s Fan Art
  • Robert Charles Wilson‘s Spin

So. Lots to read. I still see myself making a major dent in these before the end of the summer, and ideally polishing off (or ditching) the whole lot by end of year. We shall see…

One response to “PERSONAL: Reading Update July 2014

  1. Pingback: PERSONAL: Reading Update August 2014 | The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

