PERSONAL: Reading Update May 2014

I gave a reading update last month. Since then, progress has been slow but steady.

Books I’ve Finished: Since last month, I’ve finished off two books: Jennifer Egan‘s frustrating Look At Me and Nnedi Okorafor‘s Who Fears Death. Both of these books held me somewhat at arm’s length, if I’m honest, even if I enjoyed Who Fears Death much, much more of the two. This puts me at 12/30 toward my goal for the year. I am one book ahead of schedule, which is a bit behind where I was last update. I’m concerned that I’m not going to be able to keep up this pace, as my stockpile of fiction is dwindling. I love nonfiction, but I don’t devour it as voraciously as fiction, so completing books may be an issue for a bit.

Thankfully, I’ve ordered a number of fiction books that will hopefully keep me busy for the rest of the summer.

Next Up: For now, I’ve got Marisha Pessl‘s Night Film, which I’ve finally gotten back into a decent rhythm reading. I should be able to finish it by the end of the month. After that, I’ve got Sergio de la Playa‘s A Naked Singularity in tap to keep me tide me over until my shipment of books comes in.

And what’s in that bundle of exciting potentialities? This week, I should get my hands on Ben Winters‘ The Last Policeman, China Mieville‘s Perdido Street Station and Peter Cawdron‘s Feedback then Will McIntosh‘s Defenders, then a big batch of Richard Powers‘ OrfeoPierce Brown‘s Red RisingAndy Weir‘s The MartianRainbow Rowell‘s Eleanor & ParkHolly Lauren‘s TempusJames Smythe‘s The Machine, Ian Tregillis‘s Something More Than NightJeff Vandermeer‘s Annihilation, Daryl Gregory‘s AfterpartyChina Mieville‘s RailseaGinn Hale‘s Lord of the White Hell: Book One, and Claire North‘s The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.

If I finish Pessl, de la Playa and the books I’ve ordered, I’ll hit my goal for the year without even completing any of my nonfiction. Not bad at all.

2 responses to “PERSONAL: Reading Update May 2014

  1. Pingback: PERSONAL: Reading Update June 2014 | The Diversionist

  2. Pingback: PERSONAL: Reading Update July 2014 | The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

