PERSONAL: Reading Update April 2014

I gave a brief reading update early last month, where I upped my Reading Challenge for the year to 30. Since then, I’m right on track, making some pretty strong progress.

Books I’ve Finished: In addition to the five I finished in Jan/Feb, I’ve now polished off (in order): Gillian Flynn‘s Dark PlacesCharles Yu‘s How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional UniverseDaniel Price‘s The Flight of the SilversRainbow Rowell‘s Fangirl and Ernest Cline‘s Ready Player One. As of now, Goodreads tells me I’m 2 books ahead of schedule, which is heartening. I may end up increasing my Challenge again before the year is out!

Of those, I’d say Silvers was my clear favourite, followed in descending order by Fangirl, Ready Player One, Dark Places and How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe. Thankfully, I enjoyed all five of them, though the last was a bit of a struggle at times.

In addition to the five above, I’ve had two almostsAnders de la Motte‘s Game, which I abandoned halfway through despite high hopes, and Jennifer Egan‘s Look At Me, which I’m verging on the same decision. I’m only 134 pages from the end of Look At Me, but it’s such a frustrating read that I’m still struggling to advance, even after devouring it over the past few days. I have a love-hate relationship with it; I can’t say I enjoy reading it, and it’s very different from what I was looking for when I picked it up, but there’s something fascinating enough underneath that I’ve gotten this far. We’ll see.

Next Up: If I get through it, Look At Me will be book number #11 for the year. Lining up right behind it is the excellent Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor, which I’m halfway through. Once those are resolved I’ll probably turn my attention to either Marisha Pessl‘s Night Film or Sergio de la Pava‘s A Naked Singularity, both of which I’ve very much enjoyed what I’ve read. And I continue to make small ongoing progress on my denser picks, from Gravity’s Rainbow to my multitude of history texts,

5 responses to “PERSONAL: Reading Update April 2014

  1. Kara Lalalala April 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    I read the back of my deodorant every morning while I poop…

  2. Kara Lalalala April 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    PS its easter! HAPPY BUNNY DAY, BRO-BRO!

  3. Pingback: PERSONAL: Reading Update May 2014 | The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

