WRITING: No, No, NaNoWriMo

So, NaNoWriMo 2012 was both a huge success and a bit of a failure. By the standards of the contest it was a pretty stark loss: I didn’t even hit half the required minimum.

However:

In the 16 days I was still actively participating, I’d written 12,502 words of prose. That is a stunning victory considering my previous flailing attempts at writing prose in the past few years. And what more, I actually enjoyed myself, despite feeling completely out of my depth in that style. I got inside the heads of two of my characters, more intensely than I ever did in the development process.

I also got some practice thinking in prose terms. I came up with some interesting formatting ideas that wouldn’t fly in scripted content, with regards to parallel narratives and shuffling chapters. Thinking about the potentialities of a digital novel. That was a lot of fun, and perhaps might lead to something down the road.

I don’t have hard intentions to keep writing the prose version of this idea for the moment – too many projects, not enough time! – but I’ll definitely keep one eye on continuing when my writing life slows down, or when inspired to try prose again for a while.

How did your NaNo projects go? Final wordcount? Level of pride and/or failure?

3 responses to “WRITING: No, No, NaNoWriMo

  1. Nick December 10, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Like you, I fell short of the official target, but also like you, I’m happy with what I did. Things flowed better than the previous year, and I continued to make good use of the time I had available to me, despite it being much easier to quit when I first fell behind.

    It was the first time I’d ever tried telling a grand/sweeping story over multiple timelines, and while that was an exercise not quite suited to something like NaNoWriMo (nor as it turned out, the novel I wanted to write during it), I feel positive about what came out of November.

    Definitely proud of what I did.

    • R. Lackie December 10, 2012 at 1:56 am

      Awesome, man! I kinda did the same thing (but with multipile POVs instead of timelines) and even though it was a little overambitious for what NaNo is intended for, I honestly think even pushing through to creating something you normally wouldn’t have is definitely worth being proud of. Well done!

  2. Pingback: 2013 Oncoming « The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

