PERSONAL: Notebook Addiction

I swear, I spend 90% of my after-rent paycheque on transit, food, and notebooks.

Yes, notebooks.

I am addicted to buying notebooks. Not only do I tend to fill them after a couple of months, but if I find myself without one, I often buy a new one. Typically this happens at work; I like to be able to write notes whenever I need to, so if I show up to work without a notebook, I’ll usually buy a new one.

My current one is a nice, thick 300-page 6″x9″ one. For me, it’s unusual: my typical notebooks are usually 8.5″x11″ and thin, so I can write script drafts in a rough facsimile of proper formatting, or tiny and thick for writing jot notes on the go. This one’s got a little more heft, which is nice. Having a mid-range notebook, I’ve found, means both being able to take notes on the go (while walking) without having to cram a lot of information on a tiny page.

It’s my primary way of keeping sense of my life. A flurry of unnecessary To Do lists, quickly sketched-out notes on a hundred different projects, they keep me sane. Even with my everpresent Notes app on my phone, I’m still addicted to pen and paper.

Plus, one of my favourite things to do is pick up a random notebook of mine and read through it, getting flashes of inspiration. It’s actually been responsible for me picking up dormant projects and getting them back on track.

How about you? Do you buy notebooks by the bucketful, or have you transitioned to all-digital notes? Or perhaps you’re one of those magical beings who keeps all their ideas in their head… Impressive, mate.

4 responses to “PERSONAL: Notebook Addiction

  1. rebecca2000 October 17, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    You know, I never use notebooks. I love them but I am not a list person. I keep things in my mind. So if I buy too many notebooks they go unused.

    • R. Lackie October 17, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      Nothing wrong with that! That said, up to about three or so years ago I never used them either, and I picked up almost accidentally, so you never know. Thanks for reading. 🙂

      • rebecca2000 October 17, 2012 at 3:02 pm

        You’re very welcome 😉 I do tend toward hyper focus. I have the same problem with panties. I see pretty ones I have to buy them. I swear I have enough I could wear a couple pairs a day and still not wear the same ones twice in a new year.

  2. Laura Kae (@laura_kae) November 2, 2012 at 4:09 am

    I am personally responsible for the deforestation of many of the world’s forested areas. I absolutely LOVE notebooks and have procured quite the collection of them…that also includes, sticky notes, note pads, bed-side pads, doodlers, journals, and any other form of book that has blank, lined and/or grid(ed) pages.
    It’s a curse. I don’t go to Chapters for the book, I go for the moleskins.

Leave a Reply

