WRITING: Spec Scripts (Mine and Yours)

I’ve written a Community spec script (back in season one, when the show was pretty different and yet the same) and an Archer spec script, both for class. Funny enough, both are comedies. I consider myself a drama writer, but I’ve never written a dramatic spec, only pilots. I’d love to write a The Good Wife or Justified, and am hoping to tackle on this summer if I have the time.

How about you?

4 responses to “WRITING: Spec Scripts (Mine and Yours)

  1. killertv February 28, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Just finished up an ARCHER. Wrote a COMMUNITY this past fall. Wrote a JUSTIFIED last spring – think it’s a really fun show to do next. It might be a little tricky this season with all the villains, but it’s starting to blend them. Happy writing!

    • R. Lackie May 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      Good picks! (Obvious I’d think that, I guess, considering my post above.)

      For Justified, an interesting piece of advice I heard for serialised shows was to either include a very brief preamble of ‘what’s happened so far’, or even a scripted previously-on. Might help with trying to fit it into arcs.

      Happy writing! Best of luck on your Justified spec!

  2. e. weil May 17, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Trying to finish up my first spec (a Community) and I already have the skeleton of another which I may/may not finish on time for some deadlines. Other than that, one drama pilot. I also consider myself more of a drama writer, so I’ll focus on that side of TV next.

    • R. Lackie May 19, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      It’s funny, I consider myself a drama writer too, yet I also penned a Community spec for my first. I wonder why, considering how daring and unpredictable the show often is. Best of luck on your drama pilot!

Leave a Reply

