WRITING: Freewriting

Sometimes I start getting overwhelmed by everything I have to do, or even all of the projects I dearly want to do. I start getting into a rut, start avoiding writing or even thinking about it. In those cases, one of the best ways to relieve the pressure is to freewrite.

Basically, with only a slight idea of what you might write (I that), you just write whatever comes to mind. Without the pressure to make it great, you can play with it and have a little fun. You can stumble across new ideas, new ways of doing things. It also helps when you have other things you should be doing and just want to get some practice in an hour or two.

Today I didn’t feel like working on any of my projects, but I wanted to write. So I decided to freewrite, and where I was lost for words before, I managed to write five and a half pages for the afternoon. And even though it was without a concept or a plan, it was good. And, just as you learn something with every page you write, and get better with the same, I learned and improved even when all of my projects were stalled.

If you get into a rut, for any reason, try freewriting. It might help.

One response to “WRITING: Freewriting

  1. Pingback: WRITING: A Burst of Energy | The Diversionist

Leave a Reply

