READING: Recommendations?

Now I have a little disposable income, I’m looking for a few good books to dig through. What I want: engaging fiction, interesting non-fiction. That’s it. Have at it! Offer me any suggestions you’ve got in the comments, if you would be so kind.

Some details about my taste, for those interested…

  • Here is my Goodreads account page.
  • I adore Janet Fitch (White Oleander) and Gregory Maguire (Wicked).
  • I’ve been working on Mark Z. Danielewski‘s House of Leaves, off and on, for three years. Still love it.
  • I’ve been getting most of my intake from television (fiction) and blogs (nonfiction) in recent years.
  • I read a lot of techie and social justice blogs, but I want to expand my horizons about everything.
  • Sometimes I mysteriously stop halfway through a book and never finish it. It’s been five years and I still haven’t gotten back into Fyodor Dostoevsky‘s Crime and Punishment, even though I was so enjoying it.
  • My favourite non-television classes the past two years have been history courses, which has shown itself tp be a late-blooming love I lack the knowledge of the historical nonfiction field to feed.
  • Those classes were taught by University of Toronto and Ryerson University professor Arne Kislenko, whose book Culture and Customs of Thailand I am buying secondhand off Amazon.ca as we speak. Despite having never had an interest in Thailand.
  • I read a lot of theory of television, in terms of how the future might roll out creatively for TV. Or at least, I’ve bought a lot and am digging through it, starting with Jonathan Grey‘s Show Sold Separately.
  • I don’t have an e-reader. I do have an iPod with the iTunes bookstore and iBooks.
  • I read a sample section of Jonathan Franzen‘s Freedom and deeply enjoyed it.

So… Any help is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

