WRITING: Spinning Off For a Spec?

I’ve been playing around with an idea that could be a lot of fun, except for the part where it would be wildly risky as a sample: writing, on spec, a Glee spinoff.

Glee, despite being a really fun format with a lot of potential, often comes under fire for its inconsistent writing and lack of focus on character development. While I think the show has improved leaps and bounds on that last part this season, it’s still an immensely difficult spec, especially for someone who loves it, yet whose darker, grittier style is at odds with it.

However, the show is such a known property that, while speccing the show itself would lead to groans about overexposure, a well-done spinoff pilot would be great to play with, and might even be something that piques someone’s interest. Being in Canada, I wouldn’t have to worry about losing my shot at Fox or Glee, as I’m off their radar anyway. If you manage to create vivid characters and a great story alongside the music, even if its not producible, I think it would be a fun read.

Ultimately, do I know whether this would work professionally? I think it would be a massive bet that could easily not pay off. I think there are plenty of folks who would roll their eyes at it. That said, if you wanted to write a musical show like Glee, it might be the best way to show you can without trying to wrap it around a structure that changes week-to-week, and might be the only way someone would agree to read it.

That said, I’m liking the one I’m writing so much, I might write it for fun and as a test of my writing anyway, and set it aside for a special occasion.

Anyone who knows more about this: thoughts?

Leave a Reply

